So I’ve been meaning to start on the journal segment of this blog for awhile now, but I’ve been putting it off mostly because I’m hesitant to even go down this path, and for good reason.  First off, I’m about as reliable as a politician, and can’t be trusted with even the most simple of tasks.  I tend to get distracted a lot, and the amount of things I’ve actually seen through to the end would be about a million times smaller if not for good TV shows.  A lot of the time I’ll abandon whatever project I’m working on before it gets done.  I think this may have something to do with my deep-rooted psychological commitment issues that stem off of my feelings of inadequacy and self-loathing, but that’s a problem for another day.  Long story short, I’m afraid I’ll just give up on posting entries after the first two or so.

The second reason is that I’m not entirely sure what I’d write about.  Hand-in-hand with my inconsistency is my weird bipolar-type writing, where I’ll either rant on for pages on end about something like why I’m hesitant to start a journal section for my blog, or I won’t be able to even so much as look at my laptop without projectile-vomiting everywhere at the prospect of writing.  Also my life is surprisingly mundane.  I mean, what goes on inside my head is enough to rival the content of every book that’s ever been written, but as for the “real world” stuff, it’s mostly dull, and the stuff that isn’t dull tends to be too personal to share.

So.  That being said, I’m going to give it a shot anyways.  I feel like it’d be a good writing exercise, to get the juices flowing and whatnot, and I’m all about that kind of stuff.  Anything to break through the dreaded writer’s block, which I so often suffer from.  And besides that, it might be good for me.

I guess the point of all this is that I’m making a disclaimer.  I’ll try to settle into some semblance of a routine with my entries (how does once a week sound?), and more importantly I’ll try not to give up on it entirely, but I honestly have no idea how it’s going to turn out.  But I mean none of that really matters, right?  Who wants to read about some boring guy’s real life when they can read about said boring guy’s fictional characters’ lives instead?  Amright?  Let’s face it, we’re all here for the short stories, as you should be, and those I can (hopefully) promise to keep going.  I mean, there’s always the issue of writer’s block, and it might take me a few months to get back in the groove, but hey, isn’t that what cocaine is for?

3 thoughts on “Update #1 – First Impressions

Leave a Reply

