I’ve never really understood holidays.  I suppose the primary reason is just that I’m an asshole who has too much free time on his hands and has taken to ruining things for other people, but there’s also the entirely valid point that they’re not really justifiable.  I mean, how we measure the passing of time is a shitshow; our calendar has changed countless times before and at this point the actual anniversary of anything is a coin toss.  So really it’s just like “Hey, when was Jesus born?”  “Oh, I don’t know, sometime around that one pagan holiday probably.” “Okay cool.”

I’ve never understood people who make New Year’s resolutions, either.  Admittedly I have been one of those people in the past, but I think we’ve already established that I’m not exactly a shining example of humanity.  But back to the resolutions.  Look, at the end of the day (a little irony in there for ya) the “end of the year” is just another night in an infinite parade of nights.  If you want to change your life, trying to sync it up with this supposed “new year” makes no sense.  All time is time.  Any time is time.  This whole idea of a “new year, new me” is just an excuse for people to put off whatever it is they’re hoping to change.  The fact that the earth has now made one complete cycle around the sun since the last time we decided the earth had begun a new cycle around the sun has no bearing on whether or not you go to the gym on a regular basis.

Not to mention the fact that time isn’t even cyclical in the first place, so the whole notion of it “coming back around” doesn’t make any sense at all.  I think a lot of people forget that the ways in which we measure passing time were implemented by humans and have no real bearing in the world outside of the system.  And sure, if you’re existing inside of the system it makes sense to embrace the system’s ways, but what’s the point?

But then I stop, and I think to myself: TML, don’t be an ass.  Look, obviously this global delusion is rubbish, but it’s a global delusion.  Pretty much everyone is in on it.  So what’s the point in being sour when you can just go along with it, right?  I mean, it’s not like receiving presents offends me, and hey, to hell with overthinking things.  I’m sick of my over critical mind constantly being such a buzzkill.

So maybe the point isn’t that there is a point, maybe the point is the belief in the point.  Maybe it’s just about the significance we give to the idea, not the idea itself.  I mean I don’t want to get all philosophical and shit, but if we’re going to be delusional, let’s be reasonably delusional.  Or at least aware of our delusion.

So whatever.  To each his own, and fuck the logic.  Here’s to just another night tonight, and just another day tomorrow.  May all your resolutions crash and burn, and may we all wake up just a little crazier than we were when we went to bed.  Happy holidays, and have a great fucking new year, ya sorry shits.

It's All About Perspective.png

3 thoughts on “Just Another Night

  1. I am a passionate advocate of “do what works for you”. I believe Christmas suck, so i don’t celebrate. And while i do set New Year Resolutions, i think it has to do with the fact that i enjoy goal setting and i do it all the time. Kind of like the person who has a sweet tooth and is like “oh you have birthday?Let’s get cake”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess I can see why it would be appealing to sync up your goals with this metaphorical “new beginning” to give you that extra bit of motivation to follow through, but it only really works if you believe in it, right? So I suppose that’s what I take issue with, because belief doesn’t always come easy to me, but you’re right; it’s definitely a case of live and let live.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am a sceptical myself, i get what you mean. To me it seems you are a thinker which is a blessing in my opinion, although it can drive you to insanity at times. Much better than the sheeple still.

        Like

Leave a Reply

